More Driver Education Information
Fee for Driver Education
The North Carolina General Assembly in its 2015 Appropriations Act has required that each LEA in North Carolina charge each eligible student a fee of up to $65.00 to take an approved course in Driver Education. This fee collection became law on July 1, 2015.
This $65.00 fee is due on or before the first day of your selected class. You may pay this fee online with a credit card or debit card on a secured site by clicking the link below and filling out a short registration form. After paying the fee online, you should print the receipt and take it to the Site Coordinator on your campus or bring it with you on the first day of class. You may also pre-pay by calling Jordan Driving School's office at 704-566-9900 or by visiting their office. Please click on the Jordan Driving School link on this page to get their contact information. If there are available seats, you may also pay on the first day of class with cash, certified check or money order. The certified check or money order must be made payable to Jordan Driving School-Charlotte. Personal checks are not accepted.
Pay the $65.00 Fee Here
2019-2020 After School Registration Information
After-School registration is handled on individual campuses by the CMS Driver Education Site Coordinator. You can view a complete list of each Site Coordinator by clicking the "High School Site Coordinator" link on this page. Each student is advised to listen for an announcement made on their campus to direct them to where their school's registration site is located. For Afterschool classes only, a student may only register for an afterschool class offered on their campus, i.e., A student who attends Independence High School cannot register for an afterschool Driver Education class at Butler High School. You may also register for after school classes by going to www.jordandrivingschoolcharlotte.com You can register for Winter Break Classes, Spring Break Classes and Summer Classes using this link. Classes are available to all eligible students who attend public, private, charter, or registered home school in Mecklenburg County.
Driving Eligibility Certificates
A Driving Eligibility Certificate (DEC) is a printed document that is issued by the school principal and/or the principal's designee. The Driving Eligibility Certificate certifies that the student is currently enrolled in school and has demonstrated adequate academic progress toward graduation. According to NCGS20-11(n1), some students are ineligible to receive a Driving Eligibility Certificate. Students expelled, suspended or placed in an alternative educational setting for more than ten (10) consecutive days for possessing or selling alcohol, illegal or controlled substances on school property; bringing, possessing or using a weapon or firearm on school property, pursuant to NCGS 115C-391 (d1); or assaulting any school personnel on school property are ineligible.
The Driving eligibility Certificate is valid for only thirty (30) days from the date of issue. An updated certificate is required after 30 days of receiving the first one. You must follow the same procedure when requesting the update as you did when you requested the first one. NOTE: Students must be 15 years old to receive this document. For processing, please allow up to five (5) school days to receive this certificate after your request is submitted to your school's main office.
You will receive a call from our BTW teacher to schedule your Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) training. If a student has taken and passed the classroom portion of Driver Education, and within a reasonable period of time has not been scheduled for BTW, please contact Jordan Driving School, Inc. @ 704-566-9900. It's possible that the student's contact information (telephone number(s) and home address) may be incorrect and need to be updated. Also, the student may need to have a vision screening completed by the School Bus and Traffic Safety Division (SBTS) of the DMV located at:
DMV East and SBTS Office
6635 Executive Circle, Suite 130
Charlotte, NC 28212
Phone (704) 568-7505
As a courtesy, SBTS officers visit our classrooms to conduct vision screenings. If your child is absent that day, or if your child attends one of our Saturday classes, he/she may receive a vision screening on TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY, OR THURSDAY between the hours of 2:30 pm - 4:30pm at no cost. To receive this vision screening at the SBTS office, a student must bring a completed and signed Restricted Instruction Permit (RIP) from Jordan Driving School. Please call Jordan Driving School, Inc. (704-566-9900) in advance to receive the RIP form. Students must enter the DMV Office (Suite 130) and proceed to the Help Desk and ask for SBTS. Students must also bring acceptable forms of ID (Birth Certificate and Original SS Card) and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. To receive a vision screening outside of the above posted hours, a student may visit any DMV office in Charlotte and talk to a Driver License Examiner. Please be prepared to wait in line for service.