Board of Education » Board of Education

Board of Education

 Board of Education Members
Mary T. McCray
Rhonda Cheek
District 1
Elyse C. Dashew
Member At-Large
Ericka Ellis-Stewart
Member At-Large
Thelma Byers-Bailey
Member District 2
Ruby  M. Jones
Member District 3
Carol Sawyer
Member District 4
Margaret Marshall
Member District 5
 Sean Strain
Member District 6

Responsibilities of the Board of Education

The nine-member Board of Education is the governing body of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, with five primary responsibilities:

  • Employ the superintendent 
  • Establish policy 
  • Determine annual operating and capital budgets
  • Approve student assignment boundaries
  • Oversee the management of the school district’s major systems, including budget and finance, curriculum and instruction, personnel and auxiliary services



The CMS Board of Education includes six district representatives and three at-large representatives. District and at-large representatives are elected every two years on a rotating schedule. All members serve four-year terms. For more information, visit the Board of Elections website.


Meeting Schedule

The Board of Education holds regular monthly meetings, open to the public, on the second and fourth Tuesdays at 6:00 p.m.  Meetings are held at the Government Center, 600 East Fourth Street, Charlotte, NC  28202, unless indicated otherwise on the meeting schedule.   The Board may conduct an annual retreat session to establish priorities and plan its work for the upcoming year. 


2018 Board of Education Meeting Schedule 

September 11 and 24, October 9 and 30, November 7, December 11, January 8 and 22, February 12 and 26, March 12 and 26, April 9 and 23, May 14 and 28, June 11 and 25.


Professional Development

New Board of Education members participate in a CMS orientation program. 

All Board members participate in various North Carolina School Board Association training and conferences.  In addition, they may choose to attend training and educational conferences offered by Broad FoundationNational School Board AssociationCouncil of the Great City Schools and other organizations.